sabato 30 maggio 2009

Pink Floyd - 1969-1970 - Omayyad (REPOST)

(Excellent studio mp3@320)

The first edition was released on coloured vinyl in the first half of
1972 by Trade Mark of Quality in USA, the inventors of bootlegs.
Trivia note: around this same time the Best of Tour '72 LP was
released in Europe. Omayyad was the 40th in the TMoQ catalog
and the first American bootleg about Pink Floyd. It had large
success and was reissued and re-bootlegged many, many times
due to the excellent (for the time) sound quality and the presence
of unissued songs. It was probably conceived like a smaller parallel
version of Ummagumma, half studio and half live but the limitations
of the length of LP sides couldn't support that. Pink Floyd were in
Roma for several days in November and several more in December
1969 where they recorded and produced a large variety of music for
the unpleasable supervisor, director Michelangelo Antonioni and his
new movie Zabriskie Point. He knew of Pink Floyd since 1966 and
really wanted the song Careful With That Axe, Eugene for his movie.

Only 3 songs were ultimately used for the film and we were introduced
to them with the release of the soundtrack in 1970 by MGM. 3 more
songs, plus the longer Crumbling Land, surfaced in 1972 with Omayyad.
25 years later the extended sountrack by Rhino records gave us 4 more
outtakes. The rest of the known outtakes came out a while later with
the first half of the double CD bootleg named
A Journey Through Time and Space.

01 - Fingal's Cave
02 - Crumbling Land (Restored Extended Version)
03 - Oenone
04 - Rain In The Country
05 - The Embryo
06 - Interstellar Overdrive
07 - Crumbling Land (Original Extended Version)


Nessun commento:

Posta un commento