giovedì 21 maggio 2009

Philip Glass - 2007-10-05 - San Francisco, CA (three songs added)

(FM broadcast mp3@192)

A review in said:
“There is a moment in Appomattox, the new opera
by Philip Glass centered on the end of America’s
Civil war, when the stage bursts with life.
A regiment of African-American soldiers fills
the stage, and they sing a march, the original
music by Glass and a pastiche of period tunes
such as Battle Hymn of the Republic, to a rousing
text from the times. It is the climax of a
sequence depicting the taking of Richmond,
the Confederate capitol, by Union troops in 1865.
In set pieces such as these, the opera soars.”

For Appomattox, Glass said: “This is an opera
about men and events. There is hardly a person
in public life today with the moral and intellectual
stature of these two men, and I wanted to - well,
honor them isn’t the right word - but put them
on the stage and see what they were about.”

Disc 1 (79:16)
01. Announcer 8:32
02. Untitled 11:50
03. Untitled 8:48
04. Untitled 3:20
05. Untitled 7:02
06. Untitled 8:42
07. Untitled 9:47
08. Untitled 8:04
09. Untitled 2:19
10. Untitled 4:56
11. Untitled 5:50

Disc 2 (66:48)
01. Announcer/Interview 19:16
02. Untitled 5:25
03. Untitled 5:26
04. Untitled 8:18
05. Untitled 6:46
06. Untitled 6:40
07. Untitled 4:24
08. Untitled 6:55
09. Untitled 3:33

Added the three songs forgot


5 commenti:

  1. Thank you so much for the PG opera. This one is not for sale yet, and I have no idea if it will ever be. I thought I was the last person in America to listen to Glass. Thanks so much again. I did notice it appears there might be a track missing from the download;
    Disc 1 Track 7

    It's hard to tell since the files weren't tagged and some of the running times are different. No big deal.

  2. oh noes! those links go to TXT files. Any chance for a re-up?

  3. Very, very good!!!!
    Enjoy and Thank you, your link is fine!!!